The unique “childhood” and “adolescence” of humans

Furthermore, humans have their own unique life cycle stages. There are four life cycle stages common to all great apes: “infant,” “juvenile,” “adult,” and “old age.” In addition to these, only humans have a “childhood” 1 stage between “infant” and “juvenile,” and also an “adolescent” 2 stage between “juvenile” and “adult.”

In addition, as we will discuss later, the “long post-menopausal age” is also unique to humans.

■References (Books, papers, Web articles, etc.)
サルの生涯、ヒトの生涯——人生設計の生物学』  デビッド・S・スプレイグ (京都大学学術出版会、2004)
家族進化論』 第4章・第9節 人類の生活史と進化  山極寿一 (東京大学出版会、2012)

1The stage in which humans have weaned, but cannot yet eat the same solid foods as adults.
2The stage in which humans have reached sexual maturity, but have not yet actually started breeding.

★If you interested in this text, please have the following ebook at hand. For that, Click on the URL below.

★This article is a piece of "knowledge card" that makes up iCardbook, "Evolution of Human Sociality(Juichi Yamagiwa, Shun Hongo)"


iCardbook, a card-type specialized book that organizes “Knowledge Cards” is a new form of book in the smartphone age.


■iCardbook Benefits:Good value for reading

・you can read it quickly in your pocket of time, e.g. commuting
・You can immediately understand the "drawing " in the author's head
・Amazon Prime members can read for free


◎About iCardbook(english)

◎About iCardbook(japanese)

The References list of “Evolution of Human Sociality”