The Four Stages of Movement Generation

Bernstein studied human movements and discovered and organized "four generation stages."

Level A (level of tension): make fine adjustments for the static posture of the body (dynamic equilibrium) Level B (muscle-joint link level): generate the archetype of motion by the union of joints (rhythm of behavior) Level C (level of space): align the motion with the surrounding space Level D (level of action): chain movement to create an act (chaining) These are also the order of the evolution of movements that creatures acquired in their evolution. *

■References (Books, papers, Web articles, etc.)
Dexterity and Its Development (Resources for Ecological Psychology)   Nicholai A. Bernstein  Routledge; 1 edition (November 26, 2015)

* : The possibility of movements has been expanded from Level A to B, which then have been deformed according to the structure of the space in Level C, after which the movements are chained along the time axis in Level D. The human movement is built in cooperation with these layers. Bernstein organized and explained that movements deploy in time and space incrementally. This is an extremely important finding that unravels how the motions of animals are generated.

★If you interested in this text, please have the following ebook at hand. For that, Click on the URL below.

★This article is a piece of "knowledge card" that makes up iCardbook, IAI meets Philosophy: how to design the Game AI (Yoichiro Miyake).


iCardbook, a card-type specialized book that organizes “Knowledge Cards” is a new form of book in the smartphone age.

■iCardbook Benefits:Good value for reading
・you can read it quickly in your pocket of time, e.g. commuting
・You can immediately understand the "drawing " in the author's head
・Amazon Prime members can read for free

◎About iCardbook(english)

◎About iCardbook(japanese)

References list of "AI meets Philosophy: how to design the Game AI"